Monday, August 11, 2008


Local Speakers and Moderators:

Amir Muhammad – writer and independent filmmaker. Director Village People Radio Show and The Last Communist.

Amin Iskandar(Black) – writer Malaysiakini and activist Asian Network for Free and Fair Election (ANFREL)

Arutchelvan – Secretary General of Parti Sosialis Malaysia (PSM) and Councilor for Kajang

CC Yong -Former Malaysian Socialiat Front leader and State Assemblyman

Cikgu Ishak – Founder member of Party Rakyat,. Currently Central Committee Member of Islamic Party - PAS

Elizabeth Wong Human Rihts Activist and PKR Selangor State Assemblywomen for Bukit Lanjan)

Farish Noor ( Writer, Researcher & Academician)

Hassan Karim - President Malaysian Peoples Party (PRM).

Jeyakumar (Dr.Kumar ) – Central Commiteee Member PSM and member of Parliament for Sungai Siput

Kohila Y - Network of the Oppressed people-(JERIT) and Coordinator of the Coalition against Malaysia-US FTA

Lee Ban Chen - columnist in Malaysiakini, Chinese educanist movement and former trade unionist and political activist

Martin Khor – economist and Director of the Third World Network

Muhammad Sabu – Vice Chairperson of Parti Islam SeMalaysia (PAS)

Nasir Hashim – Chairperson Parti Sosialis Malaysia and State Assemblyman for Kota Damansara.

Mohd Nizam Mahshar- Coordinator, Sahabat Alam Malaysia (SAM) Friends of The Earth Malaysia

Noraini Othman -Professor at the National University Of Malaysia and Director of the Institute for Malaysian and International Studies (IKMAS)

Rajamoorthy – lawyer, editors of Third World Resurgence (Third World network)

Rohana Ariffin (Women activist and retired associate professor of Universiti Sains Malaysia Penang)

Said Zahari - Veteran journalist, poet and writer, longest detained political prisoner in Singapore.
Saraswathy. M – Grassroots activist and Deputy Chairperson of PSM

Sivarajan - PSM National Treasurer and Councillor for Shah Alam

Syed Shahir – President Malaysian Trade Union Congress (MTUC and Executive Secretary of the National Union of Transport Equipment and Allied Industries Workers (NUTEAIW).
International Speakers:

Farooq Tariq General Secretary, Labour Party Pakistan,

Giles Ji Ungpakorn - Founding member of Workers' Democracy Thailand and the , "Peoples Coalition Party" in Thailand. Lectures in Marxism and South-east Asian Politics at the Faculty of Political Science, Chulalongkorn University

Jonathan Neale, Socialist Workers Party (SWP-UK) Secretary of Campaign against Climate Change, author of Stop Global Warming: Change The World

Khalid – Secretary of the Socialist Movement Pakistan

Lisa McDonald - National coordinator of the Australia-Venezuela Solidarity Network) and Assistant National Secretary of Democratic Socialist Perspective, Australia

Long Hair Leong Kwok Hung , April 5th. Movement and Assemblyman in Hong Kong.

Manuel Guzman -Venezuela Ambassador

Sonny Melencio -Socialist Party of Labour

Terry Townsend, editor Links, online international journal for socialist renewal and member of DSP National Executive

Ved Jung Singh (Ved Jungh Bajhangee Singh), Executive member of Communist Party of Nepal (CPN-Maoist), Central Bureau of International affairs, prominent Socialist economist and specialist of foreign policy of Nepal

No comments: